Dusky moorhen – Gallinula tenebrosa

IMG_0368This dusky moorhen promenaded itself along the river in Salisbury in England. I identified it as a coot which is almost correct as it belongs to the same family but saw when I googled it that it isn´t quite the same. I found the name dusky moorhen – Gallinula tenebrosa on Wikipedia and it comes from  India, Australia, New Guinea, Borneo and Indonesia.

More critters at Camera Critters and Saturday’s Critters and more winged pictures at Wild Bird Wednesday and  The BIRD D’Pot .

8 thoughts on “Dusky moorhen – Gallinula tenebrosa

  1. Here, in America, we call them “Common Gallinule”….aren’t their feet huge? Great portrait you’ve posted…and so detailed!!!

    Before I leave, I’d like to send along my thanks for sharing this with us birders at I’d Rather B Birdin’ this weekend!! Have a glorious week ahead.

    Like

  2. Hello, the moorhen is a pretty bird. Great shot. I was away for two weeks and I am so sorry to be late commenting and visiting your post. Thank you so much for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Sunday, enjoy your day and new week ahead! Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

